About the IAA

Contact Us

IAA Presidents

      This history covers two distinct periods  of the IAA's development. In 1946 it was formed as the Belfast Centre of the Irish Astronomical Society. Apart from Dublin there were other centres in Armagh, Cork, Derry, Galway, Clonmel and Dundalk though some of these didn't last long. The IAS was formed in October 1937 in Dublin, but established the regional centres in the years afterwards. For the first five years the senior officeholder was designated "President". This changed to "Chairman" in 1951.

      In 1974 the only two remaining regional centres, Dublin and Belfast, went their separate ways with Dublin keeping the Irish Astronomical Society name and Belfast becoming the Irish Astronomical Association. The senior officeholder designation returned to "President" at this time.

      The Roll of Presidents and Chairmen to date is as follows:-


      AGM No. (IAS No.) Year President



      Sir David Lindsay Keir



      Sir David Lindsay Keir



      Sir David Lindsay Keir



      Sir David Lindsay Keir

      4th 1950 Vacant

      5th 1951 A P Fitzgerald
      6th 1952 A P Fitzgerald
      7th 1953 Brig. Papworth
      8th 1954 Brig. Papworth
      9th 1955 A S Merrick
      10th 1956 A S Merrick
      11th 1957 R Hayward
      12th 1958 C McMahon
      13th 1959 A Scott
      14th 1960 A Scott
      15th 1961 A Scott
      16th 1962 W G McCusker
      17th 1963 W G McCusker
      18th 1964 I Grainger
      19th 1965 I Grainger
      20th 1966 I Grainger
      21st 1967 Andrew Trimble
      22nd 1968 Andrew Trimble
      23rd 1969 Andrew Trimble
      24th 1970 Ronnie Ormonde
      25th 1971 Ronnie Ormonde
      26th 1972 Ronnie Ormonde
      27th 1973 David E Beesley
      28th 1974 David E Beesley

      The Belfast centre reconstituted on 17th May 1974 as the Irish Astronomical Association


      Ronnie Ormonde
      I (29th 1975 Ronnie Ormonde
      II (30th) 1976 Ronnie Ormonde
      III (31st) 1977 Tony Drennan
      IV (32nd) 1978 Brian J Beesley
      V (33rd) 1979 Brian J Beesley
      VI (34th) 1980 Terry Moseley
      VII (35th) 1981 Terry Moseley
      8th 1982 Terry Moseley
      9th 1983 Dr H R Ormonde
      10th 1984 Dr H R Ormonde
      11th 1985 Dr H R Ormonde
      12th 1986 J Flynn
      13th 1987 J Flynn
      14th 1988 J Flynn
      15th 1989 David E Beesley
      16th 1990 David E Beesley
      17th 1991 Bruce Hardie
      18th 1992 Bruce Hardie
      19th 1993 Bruce Hardie
      20th 1994 Terry Moseley
      21st 1995 Terry Moseley
      22nd 1996 Terry Moseley
      23rd 1997 Dr Andy McCrea
      24th 1998 Dr Andy McCrea
      25th 1999 Dr Andy McCrea
      26th 2000 Terry Moseley
      27th 2001 Terry Moseley
      28th 2002 Terry Moseley
      29th 2003 Dr Andy McCrea
      30th 2004 Dr Andy McCrea
      31st 2005 Dr Andy McCrea
      32nd 2006 Pat O'Neill
      33rd 2007 Pat O'Neill
      34th 2008 Pat O'Neill
      35th 2009 Philip Baxter
      36th 2010 Philip Baxter
      37th 2011 Philip Baxter
      38th 2012 Paul Evans

(C) IAA 2012 - All Rights Reserved